Help:Automatic edit summaries
Automatic edit summaries are edit summaries automatically generated by the MediaWiki software if a user did not supply an edit summary for their edit. Automatic edit summaries are used only in four specific cases:
|Use case||Associated system message|
|when a new page is created||MediaWiki:Autosumm-new|
|when a page is blanked||MediaWiki:Autosumm-blank|
|when over 90% of the page's content is removed||MediaWiki:Autosumm-replace|
|redirecting a page||MediaWiki:Autoredircomment|
These edit summaries are always in the wiki's content language (as opposed to being in the language of the user who made the edit).
If you do not want to use automatic edit summaries on your wiki, please contact ShoutWiki staff to have this feature turned off for your wiki.